INTERACTIVE: How Malaysia’s political balance has shifted since 2018

PETALING JAYA: Malaysia is going into a general election like no other with the country’s political landscape having shifted repeatedly since the last polls.

The 14th General Election (GE14) in 2018 saw a once dominant Barisan Nasional losing control of Parliament for the first time.

Pakatan Harapan, which won GE14, would go on to lose power less than two years later.

A state election was triggered in Sabah in 2020 followed by Melaka and Johor the following year.

Since GE14, Malaysia has had three prime ministers.

With GE15 around the corner, let’s look at what has happened over the past four and a half years.

Post-GE14 political rollercoaster

Here’s an interactive timeline that recaps some of the key developments that have shaped the country’s post GE14 landscape:

Changing landscape

The following maps of Malaysia’s parliament constituencies show just how much the political ground has shifted over the past four years.

Forty-one of the 222 MPs who won in GE14 have changed parties.

Of the 41, nine were sacked from their party and went on to join new ones.

Another 29 MPs joined new parties after leaving their previous ones.

The remaining three are Independent MPs who went on to join a party after their GE14 wins.

Below are related details on all incumbent MPs, including information on the movement of lawmakers who were either sacked or quit from their parties and who then joined new ones.

Post-GE14 by-elections

Apart from state elections in Sabah, Melaka, Sarawak and Johor, there have also been 12 by-elections since GE14.

Of the total, five were for parliament seats and the rest were for state assembly seats.