Johor polls: Ongoing seat allocation discussions must be based on transparency, honesty, says Muda

JOHOR BARU: The ongoing seat allocation discussion for the state polls must be based on transparency and honesty, says the Malaysian United Democratic Alliance (Muda)

In a statement by the party’s political bureau, Muda said that it has entered into discussions with PKR, DAP and Parti Amanah Negara (Amanah) and added that it has been agreed that Muda will conduct bilateral negotiations with each party.

“Through bilateral negotiations Muda, DAP and Amanah have reached an agreement and made a joint announcement on Wednesday (Feb 9) while discussion with PKR has yet to be finalized.” said the party.

It added that it has proposed to contest in three seats that were uncontested or not won by PKR in the last general election, also saying that Muda respects the right of PKR to defend their existing seats.

Muda then said that PKR has not given their final word on the three seats.

“Muda is confident and believes that in the spirit of togetherness and for the sake of the people of Johor, transparent and honest negotiation must be made,” it added

“The party also suggested that the essence of the negotiations be resolved together behind close door before being announced to the media in the spirit of mutual transparency,” said Muda.

On Wednesday, Johor PKR chairman Syed Ibrahim Syed Noh said PKR has offered three seats to Muda and were awaiting a response from them.

Earlier, DAP, Amanah and Muda reached a consensus between them with Muda to contest in the following seats – Tenang, Bukit Kepong, Parit Raja, Machap, Puteri Wangsa, Bukit Permai.

It was also agreed that Amanah, DAP and Muda would combine their election machinery to support all of its candidates.

Nominations for the Johor state election has been set for Feb 26 and polling is set for March 12.

Parit Raja and Machap were previously contested by Umno in the 14th general election, and Umno won both seats.

Tenang, Bukit Kepong, Puteri Wangsa and Bukit Permai were contested and won by Parti Pribumi Bersatu Malaysia (Bersatu) during the 14th general election, when it was still a part of the Pakatan Harapan coalition.